h1

More Stargate Universe News

May 2, 2009

The producers of the new SGU series have opened up a little more and revealed some of their thinking on the new show.  I should preface this by saying how skeptical I am about the potential success of this show.  I was an avid SG-1 watcher, but I was skeptical when Stargate Atlantis came out.  To my surprise SGA was actually good.  The “lost in space” premise of SGU, however, leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.  Hopefully, I will be pleasantly surprised.

“The style is very different from what we’ve done in the past,” Cooper said. “It’s far more mobile than we’ve done in the past on SG-1. The concept is that we wanted to shoot this a little bit like a documentary crew would shoot a ride-along to a space ship out in the universe — that maybe we could get audiences to embrace the science fiction elements and the characters in a realistic way if we shot the show using the ‘language’ of documentary and reality.

What the flip?  OK, my skepticism just escalated.  Please tell this does not mean a wobbly camera running through the forest chasing aliens.  Please, tell me that.  Please?

3 comments

  1. My hope is that they don’t do shaky camera ala “Cloverfield” as that was well, off-putting, to say the least.


  2. That’s exactly what I’m afraid they’re planning to do, and if they start voting people off, I’m really done with it.


  3. Thanks for your blog, it is so good, I really like it! Its exactly what I was looking for when i searched for stargate universe – I’ll be a regular visitor from now on!



Leave a Reply

