h1

Son of Karbala

April 28, 2007

Cover of Son of KarbalaI just started reading, Son of Karbala: The Spiritual Journey of an Iraqi Muslim by the brilliant Shaykh Fadhlalla Haeri. I’ve long admired this shaykh, and it is no surprise to me that he has experienced such an intriguing life, growing up in the shadow of Imam Husayn’s shrine and then encountering education, trials, and realizations in the western world. I’ve only read a chapter so far, but I’m loving it. But then again, I love most biographies that tell of someone’s struggle to become a better person. I’ll post a more detailed review when I’m finished, inshaAllah.

Leave a Reply

