h1

Printing, please wait…

June 1, 2006

I am supposed to print overdue notices. I supposed to…

When did printing become such a difficult exercise? I have 52 pages of overdue notices (3 or 4 notices per page, do the math). Anyway, I’ve tried my desktop printer and the big lab copier/printer $10,000 behemoth. My desktop printer printed a blank page, and the behemoth printed about 15 of them, three times.

Our automation system runs through a Windows 2000 terminal server, so the printing system is really messy. Actually, it’s Citrix MetaFrame. Anyway, whatever it actually is, it sucks. This summer, we’re supposed to get a new system, hopefully web-based. They’ve already ruled out any “open source” systems (and I don’t feel like trying to fight it), so we’ll have to hope and pray that we get something semi-decent.

Right now I’m going to see if I can paste this into a word processor, page-by-page.

Leave a Reply

