h1

Know Your Imam

February 3, 2006

It is related by Salman al-Farsi that he heard the Messenger of Allah (may Allah bless him and grant him peace) saying about Hasan and Husayn, “O Allah, truly I love them, and I love whoever loves them.” Also, “Whoever loves Hasan and Husayn, I love; whomever I love, Allah loves; and whoever hates them, I have; whomever I hate, Allah hates, and He will cause him to enter the Fire.”
(al-Mufid, Kitab al-Irshad)

It is related by ibn Mas’ud that one day, the Prophet was praying when Hasan and Husayn came and climbed on his back; when he raised his head he held them gently, and when he had finished, he sat one on his right thigh and one on his left, saying, ‘Whoever loves me should love these two.’
(al-Mufid, Kitab al-Irshad)

It is related by al-Tirmidhi that Ya’li ibn Murrah said he heard the Messenger say, ‘Husayn is from me, and I am from Husayn. Allah loves whoever loves Husayn. Husayn is a descendant of [my] descendants.’
(al-Irbilli Kashf al-Ghummah)

While the Prophet, may God bless him and his family, was praying, al-Hasan and al-Husayn came and stood behind him. When he raised his head, he took them tenderly (into his arms). When he resumed (his prayers), they resumed (theirs). Then when he had finished, he sat one on his right knee and the other on his left knee and said, “Whoever loves me, should love these two. They, peace be upon them, are the two proofs of God (hujjatay Allah) of His Prophet in the contest of prayer (mubahala). After their father, the Commander of the Faithful, they are the two proofs of God to the community concerning religion (din) and belief (milla).”
(al-Mufid, Kitab al-Irshad).

‘Abdullah ibn Yahya, one of the companions of the Commander of the Faithful (peace be upon him), relates, “We went out with ‘Ali to Siffin, and when we were facing Ninevah he called out, ‘Be patient, Abu ‘Abdullah, on the banks of the Euphrates.’ I asked him why he told Abu ‘Abdullah to be patient, and he replied, ‘I went to see the Messenger of Allah and his eyes were filled with tears. I then asked him, ‘By your father and mother, O Messenger of Allah, why are your eyes filled with tears? Has someone angered you?’ But he replied that Gabriel had just left, after having told him that Husayn would be killed on the banks of the Euphrates.
(al-Irbilli Kashf al-Ghummah)

As-Sadiq, Ja’far ibn Muhammad (peace be upon him), said: Umm Salamah, may Allah bless her with mercy, once woke up weeping. She was asked, “What makes you cry?” She said, “My son al-Husayn was killed last night. And that is because I have never seen the Prophet in a dream until last night. I saw him pale and in profound grief. So I asked, ‘Why do I see you in this state of grief, O Messenger of Allah?’ He said, ‘I have been digging the graves of al-Husayn and his companions tonight.'”
(al-Mufid, Al-Amaali).

As-salaamu ‘alayka ya Aba Abdallah!

Leave a Reply

