h1

Prayer of the Illuminated

January 4, 2006

Zahra meditatingThe illuminated one (my daughter) recited Al-Fatiha behind me in Salatul-fajr this morning. Seeing as how she just turned two years old, I’d say we’re making progress.

In other news, I still have two weeks off from work. I suppose I need to get organized and try to figure out a plan of action. Otherwise, I’m going to become stuck to my chair with my fingers glued to the keyboard. It’s not like I have nothing to do, with OneUmmah.net, MuslimMessage.net, Muslim Writers Society (OK, maybe I don’t really do anything with the Writers Society, but it sounds cool), and of course the business…OK, here’s the deal, anything to deal with free software (i.e. GNU/Linux, X11, and so on) or anything about the Server and the web hosting business or anything about my day-job as a mild mannered librarian, goes on my OTHER blog. As I’ve said before, Lanterntorch has three wings (.com, .net, and .org). I own them all! Muhahahahaha!

Miss Repentance (my wife) has a job now. Can you believe it? She actually got up this morning to go to work. I’m at home with the baby. 🙂 I could get used to this…ok not really, but for now it’s cool.

How many people are ready for Eid next week? It’s unfortunate that, in America, Eid al-adha gets less hype than Eid al-fitr, even though the former is greater than the latter. Of course, for us this is a busy time any way with the Ghadir celebration and stuff only weeks following al-Adha.

3 comments

  1. ahhh I’m looking for work, too. Husband can’t wait to quit the horrible place he works at (it’s factory and non-union. Theyre sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo bad!)


  2. Masha’allah that is so sweet. My just-turned-two daughter prayer goes like this: “allakba”, raise hands, move lips, dive to the floor in full body prostration hehehehe.


  3. Salaam ‘Alaikum

    I always have thought that about this ‘Eid as well. My neighbor and I are trying to come up with fun ideas and activities for the kids this Hajj and ‘Eid season.



Leave a Reply

