h1

Cherish the Time

August 18, 2005

I’m trying to manage my time better, insha’Allah. Islam, of course, helps a lot with that, and the whole point of doing so is to focus more of my time towards thikr of Allah and studying the deen.

There should be a reasonable balance between deen and dunya. Too often we get consumed by the dunya and neglect remembrance of our Lord. There are some writings of Imam al-Ghazali on this matter. Perhaps I’ll peruse them for some answers.

We have such a limited time on this earth. Let us not waste it.

This day I will reflect on how I have spent my time and how I could spend it better, insha’Allah.

“I have experienced every type of delight and found well-being to be the best. I have suffered every kind of hardship and found turning to others to be the worst. I have carried iron and stone and found being indebted to others to be the heaviest. Know that there are two kinds of days: one favorable and the other unfavorable. If it is good, do not lavish, and if it is unfavorable, be patient, as both are temporary.”

–Imam Ali ibn Abi Talib (peace be upon him)

2 comments

  1. Bismillah
    Assalaamu’alaikum,
    Very beautiful, I agree with you and Insha’Allah will try and do the same.


  2. Assalaamu’alaikum, good site! Insha Allah, I will do good for one and all ..May Allah show the right and good way to all..Amin!

    Don Lapre Zach
    webmaster@john-don-lapre-world.com
    http://www.john-don-lapre-world.com



Leave a Reply

